I failed my 3 month plan!

So, round about now I should have finished my 2000 Kanji, but I’m still at 700 and forgetting them fast what happened?

I got a job. And I stopped doing my daily routine, putting it off until I just never started again. I also lost sight of my goal of achieving it in 3 months. So now, I’ll give myself a new goal, one that is more manageable with my current schedule. I will learn 5 Kanji a day (a big drop from my 35-40 Kanji a day I used to do), and pending a new smartphone on my birthday (at least I hope I get one…or some sort of smart device) I can get Anki on my phone or some apps and help learn on the go. My current phone almost explodes at phone calls..

Learning the Kanji is fun, and the ones that have stuck are so easy to recall it’s silly, others I’ve just lost. I’ve been learning my Katakana and attending Japanese class weekly, so it’s not all doom and gloom. But I need to get back into the groove.

So onward, I wont start learning the meaning of the Kanji yet, to stick with the RTK method, and hopefully will have them all to memory by the Summer.Β 

Wish me luck, and kick me up the but if I don’t do any work πŸ˜›

4 thoughts on “I failed my 3 month plan!

  1. Yeah, life (including jobs) tend to get in the way of studying, especially foreign language study which takes a huge chunk of time (:

    I think 5 kanji a day is a good pace with your busier schedule, just make sure you are enjoying the studying sufficiently. I noticed that sometimes when I force myself study too much I eventually get burned out. On the other hand, if I am really enjoying it, even if I have less time I may stay up late sometimes to study.

    Just make sure part of your Japanese study includes something that is really enjoyable, like watching Anime, reading Manga, or watching doramas.

  2. I’ve just started uni, which considerably cuts down my free time for language study, so I can’t imagine what it’d be like if you’re working!
    As long as you go at a pace that is reasonable to your schedule and brain, it should be fine ^^

Leave a comment